I am reading Diaper-Free Before 3 by Dr. Jill Lekovic, a book about how to get your kid out of diapers earlier than you would using the readiness theory. The idea is that you introduce “the potty” between 9 and 15 months and after the child becomes comfortable with it, you begin practicing. The author claims that by introducing the potty before the child enters the stubborn stage, you can make the potty part of the routine and the child will start to expect to use it. She also talks about how disposable diapers make toilet training tougher (because the child doesn’t feel the wetness) so she recommends cotton training pants once the child starts understanding how to use the potty.

The concepts make sense to me so I’ve started introducing the potty to Conal. It is very low-key right now; I just sit him on it in the morning, after lunch and before bed. So far, so good. In fact, on Thursday, he actually peed in the potty. Granted, he didn’t know he was doing it, but still! He was interested in the result. He checked it out, watched me pour it in the toilet and then helped pull the handle for the flush. He thought that was pretty darn funny.

So, maybe we’re on our way. Since I use cloth diapers now anyway, I’m hoping that will help with the whole process. We’ll see. I know it will be long and probably yucky. I just want to make sure it is as stress-free as possible and if starting early helps with that, then I’m all for trying it out!

