It has been blissfully warm for the past few days. Nary a cloud in the sky. Children and their parents everywhere are frolicking in fields aglow in the sun!

Unlike those free spirits, I am burdened by the sun. On the one hand, I want Conal to enjoy the great outdoors. Breathe in the fresh spring air. On the other hand, I’m afraid of what the sun will do to his unblemished skin. See, Owen is covered head to toe with freckles. Not that I have a problem with freckles, per se. It’s just that I can’t seem to get beyond the fact that freckles are marks of sun damage. And I don’t want Conal to be damaged.

So, I’ve been trying to cover him up. Hat, sunglasses, SPF 60. Only he won’t leave the sunglasses on and the hat is hit or miss.

Here he is sitting on the grass for one of the first times. He wouldn’t lower his arms. Didn’t dare touch that strange grass.

